Auckland Council is working with local iwi to give six of its regional parks

new Māori names as part of its Te Kete Rukuruku programme.

Ambury, Glenfern, Long Bay, Ōmana, Shakespear and Wenderholm regional parks will all be given new Māori names by mana whenua.

Five parks will have a Māori name added to the existing English name, to create a dual Māori and English name, while Ōmana Regional Park, where the current name is an abbreviated version of an historical pā site, will have its full and appropriate name confirmed and restored through the programme.

Mayor Phil Goff says its the council’s vision that “te reo Māori is seen, heard, learned and spoken in everyday life”.

Link to article: Six of Auckland’s regional parks will be given new Māori names (1news.co.nz)


This product has been added to your cart